05
Jan
10

Who has made a difference? Part III (article for the week of 1/4/10)

After completing last week’s article, I realized that I shifted slightly in my definition of those who made a difference. Specifically, last week, I began writing about those who are influential because of the way they help us to better understand the past, not so much influential in a “progress” sense of influence. Following-up on my discussion of influential African-Americans in the county, this week I began discussing influential women (and much in the same sense of influential in helping us to understand the past). I suppose its the historian in me that’s making me do this. Nonetheless, we need to understand that “influence” is not limited to influence through progress and growth, but influences to us in regard to our understanding of the past. In discussing women, two particular favorites of mine are Cornelia Jane Mathews Jordan (see her first book, Flowers of Hope and Memory, here) and Pauline Carrington Rust Bouve… mostly because of poetry and literature.

Keep in mind, this post is an extension of the print article which is longer than what you see here. Also, discussion about the topics covered in the articles is welcomed and encouraged here…

4 Responses to “Who has made a difference? Part III (article for the week of 1/4/10)”


  1. 1 fourchips
    October 17, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Cornelia Jane Matthews Jordan is my husband’s great great grandmother. We have tried for years to find out where she is buried…you don’t happen to know, do you? I enjoy reading your articles…sorry to see you stop… Best regards, Julia Chipley

  2. 3 fourchips
    October 17, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Sorry, error in the above comment. We have been trying for years to find where Cornelia Jane Mathews Jordan is buried. Do you know?

    • October 17, 2010 at 8:20 pm

      I want to get into the library in Lynchburg. I get the hunch that the key to finding her gravesite will be in the documents there, whether that be in an obituary, or something else in the genealogy section. I have a hunch she might be buried with the Leftwich or Nelson family, in one of the private cemeteries. I’ve also tried to track down her location during the war, and after her separation from Francis H. Jordan, but have had little luck.

      Incidentally, I’m getting ready to run some posts in my main blog about her poetry, as published in her 1860 book, Flowers of Hope and Memory.

      Thanks for commenting!


Leave a Reply

